Sioux Center Community Hospital building

Health system announces 2011 board members


SIOUX CENTER, Iowa (January 4, 2011) - Sioux Center Community Hospital & Health Center Avera announced the appointments of two elected officers and one new board member who will serve on the health system's Board of Directors in 2011.

Current board member Stan Speer has been elected as the new President of the Executive Board, replacing former president Dale Vander Berg who completed his term in 2010. Mr. Speer is the President of American State Bank in Sioux Center. Lauren Kaemingk has been elected as Vice-President of the Executive Board, which was previously held by Stan Speer. Mr. Kaemingk is co-owner of Kooima & Kaemingk Commodities.

"We are delighted that Stan and Lauren have accepted new officer roles," said Dale Vander Berg. "Both individuals bring valuable business experience and I am confident their leadership will make a substantial contribution to the strategic direction of the Sioux Center Community Hospital & Health Center Avera."

Dale Vander Berg, former president of the Executive Board, will continue to be on the forty-five member Board of Directors. Dale has served on the Board of Directors since 2003 and was president of the Executive Board from 2007 to 2010. Mr. Vander Berg is President of Peoples Bank in Sioux Center.

Sherri Ten Napel, an active board member, will join the ten-member Executive Board in 2011. Mrs. Ten Napel has served as a member of the board since 2002. Recently elected Brenda Dokter, a realtor at Hilt Real Estate, is a new member of the Board of Directors. 

"We are thankful as a health system to have such a great group of community leaders who guide our mission as a health ministry," said Kayleen Lee, CEO. "The Board of Directors represent the communities we serve, and I look forward to working with them in 2011 to fulfill our mission of providing optimal health care and outreach services."

The newly reconfigured Executive Board includes Stan Speer, President; Lauren Kaemingk, Vice-President; Richard Rikkers, Treasurer; Brian Van Engen, Secretary; Dave Eekhoff, Roger Fedders, Randy Feenstra, Scott Peterson, Scott Rens MD, and Sherri Ten Napel.

The board also includes Vernon Beernink, Janet Boone, Terry Boote, Delbert Broek, Leslie Brommer, Bob Bruxvoort, Tim Byl, Paul Clousing, Dennis DeKruyf, Larry Den Herder, Joe Dirksen, Brenda Dokter, John Franken, Dan Hibma, Barb Hoekstra, Jerry Kieft, John Koerselman, Ardith Lein, Barb Mellema, Theron Mulder, Eric Rankin, Normal Snieder, Jeffrey Timmer, Doug Van Meeteren, Con Van Roekel, Neil Van Schouwen, Dale Vander Berg, Theresa Vander Ploeg, Ardene Ver Hoef, Betty Vermeer, Lyle Vermeer, Virginia Vermeer, Dennis Wright, Verdean Wynja, and Gretchen Zomermaand.

Sioux Center Community Hospital & Health Center Avera is a non-profit, community hospital which was established in 1946 by a group of local leaders who envisioned a health ministry to serve the health needs of the community. It is governed by forty-five community members who volunteer to serve on the Board of Directors.